PIP Insurance (Personal Injury Protection)
Important facts about Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance
Personal Injury Protection Insurance (PIP) – In the state of Florida every driver is required to have Personal Injury Protection insurance. Florida is a “no fault” state which means regardless if
the driver is found at fault for the accident, the drivers policy is require to carry a minimum of $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection and 10,000 of property damage liability.
In 2012 a new law was enacted by the Florida legislature to try and combat fraud which requires someone who has been injured in a car accident to seek treatment for their injuries within 14 days of the accident. If the injured party does not seek treatment within the 14 days, the insurance company is not required to cover the injuries sustained in the accident through the PIP insurance.
Additionally, the new law states that the injured party must be evaluated by a physician, osteopathic physician, dentist, Physician Assistant or ARNP and given what is called an Emergency Medical Condition (EMC) in order to receive the full benefits provided through the PIP insurance.
The definition of Emergency Medical Condition is “a medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include severe pain, such that the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in serious jeopardy to patient health, and/or serious impairment to bodily functions, and/or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part”.